RSS

…for reflection time

21 Dec

My friend Kendra recently posted this yearly recap on her blog which she got from All & Sundry. It’s a great way to help reflect on the year – and since I had a bunch of car time today, here are my answers.

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?
Went on a silent meditation retreat
Went to the Ryman and saw some great shows
Stuck with a daily meditation practice

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Rather than resolutions I make my commitments to myself every year on my birthday. Here are this years:
IMG_1715

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Andrea had Arlo, Emilie had Cora and Sonja, and Anna had Harper – lots of awesome babies!!!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Evvie from my Slope ‘n’ Shore “family”

5. What countries did you visit?
The Bahamas

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?
More patience

7. What dates from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
January 4, my first day at Against the Stream
August 4th and 5th, when we celebrated my parent’s 40th wedding anniversary
September 14th-16th, Telluride Blues and Brews

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Leaving my job so I can work towards living a life that truly meets my truth

9. What was your biggest failure?
Some major lapses in communication with loved ones

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Well, I fell twice this year {sigh} But I healed up good!

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A lot of Dharma books

12. Where did most of your money go?
Food – I love eating out

13. What did you get really excited about?
My connection to the Dharma and my sangha

14. What song will always remind you of 2012?
Ulysses by Josh Garrels

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:

– happier or sadder? happier
– thinner or fatter? same
– richer or poorer? Richer because I’ve finally learned to budget

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Been clear and open in my communication

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Perseverating

18. How did you spend Christmas?
I’m spending it in MA with my parents, my dog, my brother, and his girlfriend.

19. What was your favorite TV program?
I watched all the seasons of MI-5 on Netflix

20. What were your favorite books of the year?
Mindfulness in Plain English by Bhante G

21. What was your favorite music from this year?

Neil Halstead – Palindrome Hunches, Erin Rae and the Meanwhiles – Crazy Talk, Matthew Mayfield – A Banquet for Ghosts

22. What were your favorite films of the year?
Moonrise Kingdom and Beasts of the Southern Wild

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 35 and I did a morning walk with the Abelys and then went to the Smiling Elephant for dinner with a bunch of people I love

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
If I had been more accepting of what my heart wants

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?
Wear what you feel like – and it’s always ok to wear a dress

26. What kept you sane?
Meditation and lots of outside time with Sally

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.

It’s never too late to craft the life I want

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 208 other followers

